DST SAASTA National Youth Service Programme

The South African Agency for Science a Technology Advancement (SAASTA, a business unit of National Research Foundation) on behalf of the Department of Science and Technology (DST) is inviting unemployed science, engineering and technology graduates (18 to 35 years of age) to volunteer their services towards the implementation of the Youth into Science Strategy under the auspices of the National Youth Service Programme.  Volunteers will be deployed for a period of up to 12 months to participating organisations that collaborate with the DST in its youth development programmes.  A stipend will be paid to volunteers per month as follows: National Diploma NQF Level 6 (R 4 500), Bachelor’s Degree / B.Tech NQF Level 7 (R 5 000), Honours NQF Level 8 (R 5 500), Master’s NQF Level 9 (R 6 500), PhD NQF Level 10 (R 7 700).

Vacancies exist and become available during the year at a variety of organisations in all nine provinces.

Interested youth, who meet the qualifications, are invited to submit a covering letter indicating why they want to volunteer, in which province they are residing and the province of their choice. Candidates should also include curriculum vitae, certified copies of ID and qualifications, and all their contact details. To view a list of current participating organisations, please CLICK HERE

Applications can be hand delivered to :

Human Resource Volunteer Department
South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement (SAASTA)
2nd  Floor Didacta Building
211 Nana Sita Street


Please email your application documents to nysprecruitement@saasta.ac.za

Closing date: 28 February 2018

Only shortlisted candidates will be notified of the screening outcomes. All travel and relocation costs will be for the candidates’ own expenses. 

All enquiries:  MacDonald Kapu on Tel: (012) 392 9300

Leave a Reply