Universities in South Africa: focus on the University of Pretoria

As part of The Bursary Bin’s endeavors for making study information and information on financial aid as accessible as possible we have embarked on a campaign to make all information about all universities in South Africa, including financial aid information and general contact details, available to all through a series of articles published on our site. This article is part of the campaign.

By Lesibana Sekgwele

The University of Pretoria also known as Tuks (pronounced Tukkies) is a multi-campus public university located in Pretoria, City of Tshwane Metro. The University was established in 1908 as the Pretoria campus of Johannesburg-based Transvaal University College.

The University’s main campus has nine faculties which are:

  • Faculty of Education and Management sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering and information Technology
  • Faculty of Health  Sciences
  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
  • Faculty of Theology
  • Faculty of Veterinary  Sciences

This university also houses one of the country’s prestigious business schools, the Gordon Institute of Business Studies

University of Pretoria (UP) general contact details Financial aid office contact details
Postal address:

University of Pretoria

Private Bag X20 Hatfield

Pretoria 0028

Telephone: 012  420-3111

Fax number: 012 420 4555

E-mail: csc@up.ac.za

Website: http://www.up.ac.za


Same as general contact details.

Financial aid office direct web-address: http://www.up.ac.za/fao

One Reply to “Universities in South Africa: focus on the University of Pretoria”

Leave a Reply