Universities in South Africa: focus on the University of Limpopo

As part of The Bursary Bin’s endeavors for making study information and information on financial aid as accessible as possible we have embarked on a campaign to make all information about all universities in South Africa, including financial aid information and general contact details, available to all through a series of articles published on our site. This article is part of the campaign.

By Lesibana Sekgwele

The University of Limpopo has two campuses- one situated in Limpopo, in Mankweng, Polokwane (the university was established on Turfloop farm, hence the name) and another in Ga-Rankuwa, Tshwane, Gauteng. It was formed on 1 January 2005, as a result of a merger of the University of the North and the Medical University of Southern Africa (Medunsa) – a merger which is now in the process of demerger.


The University of the North

The University of the North was established in 1959, as the University College of the North under the administration of the University of South Africa (UNISA). The university college only gained university-status in January 1970, and was, from then, named the University of the North.

Turfloop farm, the farm on which the university was established, is situated in the township of Mankweng which is about 30 kilometers north-west of Polokwane.


The Medical University of South Africa (Medunsa) was established in 1979 to provide quality health care education to the previously educationally disadvantaged communities of South Africa, the divided into a number of homelands.

Medunsa is situated in Ga-Rankuwa Township, in the north of Tshwane, a few kilometers from the city of Pretoria. It is situated near the Dr George Mukhari Hospital.

Faculties in the University of Limpopo

  • Faculty of Humanities ( Acting Executive Dean Dr M.A Rampedi)

The faculty is divided into three schools which are: Languages and Communication Studies, Education, and Social Sciences.

  • Faculty of Management and Law (Executive Dean Prof O. Mireku)

Schools in the Faculty of Management and Law are: Economics and Management, Law, Turfloop Graduate School of Leadership, and Accounting and Auditing.


  • Faculty of Health Sciences (Executive Dean Prof E.A Holland)

The Faculty is divided into six schools which are Dentistry, Health Care Sciences, Health Promotion unit, Medicine, Pothology and Public Health.

  • Faculty of Science and Agriculture (Executive Dean Prof H.J Siweya)

Schools in the above mentioned faculty are: Computational and Mathematical Science, Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Molecular and Life Science, and Physical and Mineral Sciences.

Financial Aid Offices contact details

This university has two financial aid offices, one on each of its campuses.

Turfloop Financial Aid Office Medunsa Financial Aid Office
Physical Address: S-Block BuildingTurfloop CampusPostal Address: Private Bag X1106

Sovenga, 0727

Physical Address: Room 5518, 5thFloor, Clinical Pathology Building.Medunsa Campus 

Postal Address: P O Box 69,


Tel: 015 268 2405

 The University of Limpopo general contact details

Turfloop Medunsa
Postal Address:The Registrar: AcademicPrivate Bag X1106



Website: http://www.ul.ac.za

Postal Address:The Registrar: AcademicP O Box 143



Website: http://www.ul.ac.za

Tel: 015 268 2226/2369 Tel: 021 521 4222

12 Replies to “Universities in South Africa: focus on the University of Limpopo”

  1. Hi,I’d like to request an application form to study Medicine at Medunsa in the year 2014. Please send it to my e-mail or physical address:
    Thusi Village

  2. I’d like to request an application form to study Medicine at Medunsa in the year 2014. Please send them to address:
    P.O Box 1848

  3. Hi, I’d like to request for the 2014 application forms to study Medicine at the Univeristy of Medunsa. Here is my postal address:
    P O Box 14

  4. Hi,

    I would also like to request an application form for study in 2014 at Medunsa . Please sen it via e-mail or to my postal address: PO Box 1648, Garsfontein East, Pretoria, 0060.

    Much appreciated.

  5. Hi I’d like to request an application form to study medicine at Medunsa 2014 my postal address is 1 no 5th Avenue Alexandra Township

  6. Pls snd me an application form i wnt to study nursing,cn i study nursn while i did commercial studies? My postal adress is,495 Block E,Letlhabile,0264

Leave a Reply